Rising Star Award

In furtherance of IWIRC’s mission, which is devoted to enhancing the professional status of women in the insolvency and restructuring profession, IWIRC has established an award for individuals who are the “Rising Stars” of IWIRC. IWIRC wants to recognize and honor the “Rising Stars” of the organization for their contributions to IWIRC. The Rising Star nominees may be attorneys, bankers, turnaround advisors, claims and noticing agents, academics or other restructuring industry professionals who are actively engaged in the restructuring industry, are located anywhere in the world, and who have shown dedication and commitment to IWIRC on the local, national and/or international level.

All nominees for the IWIRC Rising Star Award must be members of IWIRC. However, IWIRC membership is NOT a requirement to make a nomination. Nominations may be received from firms, companies, partners, associates, IWIRC Networks, IWIRC members, organizations or otherwise.

The IWIRC Rising Star Award will be presented to the woman who:

  • Has eight years or less experience in the insolvency & restructuring industry
  • Has been actively involved in promoting IWIRC – locally, nationally and/or internationally either through IWIRC Network or IWIRC Board leadership, committee participation, securing sponsors, planning programs, spearheading events, etc.
  • Has inspired, created, led and/or served on a Board of an IWIRC Network or committee
  • Has shown exceptional leadership
  • Has made an extraordinary contribution to IWIRC and/or an IWIRC Network
  • Has gone above and beyond ... and made a difference to the mission of IWIRC

We are looking for individuals that are relatively new to the restructuring industry who have made a marked difference with their involvement and achievements in IWIRC at the local, national and/or international level. Please feel free to think out of the box on this. We welcome all entries. Please consider those women who have consistently demonstrated a commitment to enhancing IWIRC and your local Network.

Five Semi-Finalists will be announced in early September of each year. All five Semi-Finalists will be invited to attend the Annual IWIRC Fall Conference where the winner of that year’s IWIRC Rising Star Award will be announced. The IWIRC Rising Star award recipient and all of the other Semi-Finalists (along with their supporting firms, companies, partners, organizations) will be recognized and presented with awards honoring their contributions and support of IWIRC.

Rising Star History

2017 Rising Star (presented October 8, 2017)
Camille Bent, BakerHostetler LLP, New York Network

2017 Semi-Finalists
Alexia Adda, Walkers, Singapore Network
Kimberly Brown, Landis Rath & Cobb LLP, Delaware Network
Jeannie Kim, Buchalter, Northern California Network
Helen Sevenoaks, CMS Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang LLP, Europe Network

2016 Rising Star (presented October 26, 2016)
Eloise Fardon, Stephenson Harwood, Hong Kong Network

2015 Rising Star (presented September 27, 2015)
Jodi Daniel Cooke, Stichter Riedel Blain & Postler, PA, Alabama and Florida Networks

2014 Rising Star (presented October 8, 2014)
Lauren McKelvey, Wiley Rein LLP Co-Chair Washington DC Network

2013 Rising Star (presented October 30, 2013)
Sarah Frankel, GCG, New York, Co-Chair New York Network

2012 Rising Star (presented October 24, 2012)
Jennifer Kimble, Haskell Slaughter, Founder & Chair, Alabama IWIRC Network

2011 Rising Star (presented October 12, 2011)
Monique Hayes, Genovese Joblove & Battista, P.A. and Co-Chair of the Florida Network

Join the IWIRC Community

A world of benefits is just a click away.

Learn more about membership benefits!

2018 Rising Star Nominations Due by August 15, 2018

It is never too early to start taking notice of that Rising Star in your Network!  Be sure and nominate them for IWIRC's 8th Annual Rising Star Award by August 15, 2018 to give them the recognition they deserve!

Platinum Sponsor
Sponsor Photo